BCPS to name 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year on May 6

What: Baltimore County Public Schools will announce its 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year and 2015-2016 Principal of the Year during a gala ceremony to be held Wednesday, May 6. The event will be live-streamed on BCPS-TV at www.bcps.org.  Finalists for the Teacher of the Year award are:

  • Ellen Beckstrom, an English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) teacher at Reisterstown Elementary School
  • Kathryn Brave, an advanced academics resource teacher at Hernwood Elementary School
  • Jessica Cybulski, a Grade 2 classroom teacher at Woodholme Elementary School
  • Kathleen Davis, a Grade 6 mathematics teacher at Dundalk Middle School
  • Samuel Georgieff, a visual arts teacher at Cockeysville Middle School
  • Orly Mondell, a social studies and government teacher at New Town High School
  • R. Christopher Rose, a performing arts teacher and director at Hereford High School

Finalists for the Principal of the Year award are:

  • Melissa DiDonato, principal of Padonia International Elementary School
  • Doug Elmendorf, principal of Chase Elementary School
  • Jonná Hundley, principal of Chapel Hill Elementary School
  • Jennifer Mullenax, principal of Halstead Academy
  • Jean Wilson, principal of Pine Grove Elementary School

When: Wednesday, May 6, 2015, from 4 – 6 p.m.  

Where: George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology, 938 York Road, Towson, MD 21204