Established in November of 2017, the Advisory Council for The Education Foundation of BCPS was created to provide perspective and help the foundation navigate effectively.  Members of the community sit on the council to support the voice of the school house to help guide the foundation in actions and activities that will ultimately provide opportunities to Baltimore County Public School students to become globally competitive citizens.


Members of The Education Foundation of BCPS Advisory Council include the individuals listed below representing specific categories of expertise:

Category First Name Last Name Title Company/Organization
President of The Education Foundation of BCPS Ms. Cindy Jones President First Financial Federal Credit Union
Workforce Development Ms. Alicia Fales Supervisor BCPS, Career & Technology Education
Apprenticeships Representative Baltimore County Public Schools
Non Profit Organization Ms. MaryBeth Hyland Founder and Chief Visionary SparkVision
Retired Teacher Mr. Farrell Maddox Baltimore County Public Schools, Retired Teacher Author & Artist
Independent School Mr. Steve Miller Consultant New Vision Academy
Member Outside the County District Ms. Yolanda Pruitt Executive Director Montgomery County Foundation Board
BCPS Senior Leadership Zone 2 Blatimore County Public Schools
Parent of BCPS Student Aramark
Higher Education Mr. Josh Smith Dean of The School of Education Loyola University
Principal of the Year 2017-2018 Elementary School Ms. Cheryl Brooks Principal Berkshire Elementary School & Principal of the Year
Principal of the Year 2017-2018 Secondary School Ms. Aubrey Brown Principal Randalstown High School & Principal of the Year
Principal of the Year 2018-2019 Elementary School Ms. Thomas Cathy Principal Cromwell Valley Elementary Regional Magnet School
Principal of the Year 2018-2019 Secondary School Dr. Taylor Kandice Principal Deer Park Middle School
Teacher of the Year 2017-2018 Ms. Rebecca Eig 2nd Grade Teacher Owings Mills Elementary School & Teacher of the Year
Teacher of the Year 2018-2019 Mr. Brandon Penn 3rd Grade Teacher Lyons Mill Elementary