Berkshire Elementary and Randallstown High leaders named 2017-18 Elementary and Secondary Principals of the Year



TOWSON – Cheryl Brooks, principal at Berkshire Elementary School, and Aubrey Brown, principal at Randallstown High School, were named the 2017-18 Elementary and Secondary Principals of the Year at last night’s Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year Ceremony.


“Cheryl and Aubrey are consummate leaders who have created school cultures that emphasize academic excellence and community pride,” said Superintendent Dr. S. Dallas Dance.


“Too often,” Dr. Dance said, “the work of our principals is unsung. We welcome this opportunity near the end of each school year to celebrate their invaluable contributions. Every day, year-round, our principals build relationships with families, invest in our staff, and create community partnerships that support students. Our principals along with their teachers are the heart and soul of every school. They model lifelong learning, they mentor, they lead, and they inspire us. Congratulations to Cheryl and Aubrey for being selected as outstanding representatives of our outstanding cadre of principals.”


In addition to Brooks (a Dundalk resident) and Brown (a Pikesville resident), four other Principal of the Year finalists were honored during Wednesday’s ceremony. They are:



  • Melissa DiDonato, Padonia International Elementary School
  • Tracy Robinson, Glyndon Elementary School



  • Kyria Joseph, Milford Mill Academy
  • Michael Weglein, Sollers Point Technical High School


The Principal of the Year program, initiated by Dr. Dance, is in its fifth year. This is the second year that BCPS has honored both an elementary and a secondary principal of the year.


The Principal of the Year receives a variety of awards and gifts from the school system, the Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools, and Baltimore County’s business community. The BCPS Teacher and Principal of the Year program thanks the Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools and NTA Life for their support.


The Education Foundation of Baltimore County would like to thank its partners: Baltimore in a Box, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, BCPS Department of Innovative Learning, BCPS Office of Organizational Effectiveness, BCPS Office of Technology, Boscov’s at White Marsh Mall, Jean Blosser, Bread & Circuses Bistro, Capstone, Defined Learning, LLC, Hilary Corna, FastPark, Federal Realty, Genesee Valley Outdoor Learning Center, Heinemann, Hilton, iFly, Kobe, Dr. Crystal Kuykendall, author, From Rage to Hope, Lakeshore Learning Materials, Loyola University, Farrell Maddox, author, Building the Future, National Aquarium, Nelson Coleman Jewelers, Open Door, Red Brick Station, Santoni’s Marketplace and Catering, Shake Shack, Sheraton Baltimore North, Spa on The Avenue, Towson Tavern, Under Armour, and Workbench.




Source: Baltimore County Public Schools, home to 2014 National Teacher of the Year Sean McComb, serves 112,000 students as the nation’s 25th largest school system. Dedicated to producing globally competitive graduates, BCPS is expanding world languages instruction to elementary grades and integrating technology into curriculum and instruction through S.T.A.T. – Students and Teachers Accessing Tomorrow.