A Ceremonial Celebration and Recognition of Teaching and Learning and Leadership

BCPS Teacher of the Year 2016-2017 and BCPS Principal of the Year 2016-2017

On Wednesday, April 20, 2016, Baltimore County Public Schools announced its 2016-2017 Teacher of the Year, as well as the 2016-2017 Elementary and Secondary Principals of the Year during a recognition ceremony at George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology, in Towson.  This year’s Teacher of the Year is Mr. Corey Carter.  Mr. Carter is a 6-year educator who teaches science at Old Court Middle School and co-founder of the My Brother’s Keeper mentoring program in his building.  Mr. Carter will represent TEAMBCPS and compete for the honor of Maryland State Teacher of the Year in the upcoming months.  Mr. Carter will appear across multiple venues to champion the teaching profession as well as what it means to be an educator in Baltimore County Public Schools.

The 2016 BCPS Teacher of the Year finalists were:

  • Corey Carter, a science teacher at Old Court Middle School
  • Christian Johnson, a Grade 5 teacher at Hawthorne Elementary School
  • Shannon Johnson, a S.T.A.T. (Students and Teachers Accessing Tomorrow) teacher at Arbutus Middle School
  • Molly LaBricciosa, an AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) coordinator and English teacher at Pikesville High School
  • Meaghan O’Reilly, a visual arts teacher at Mays Chapel Elementary School
  • Ryan Twentey, a visual arts teacher at Parkville High School

During the evening festivities, our district named the Elementary Principal of the Year, Ms. Missy Fanshaw, the principal of Rodgers Forge Elementary School and Secondary Principal of the Year, Mrs. Sandra Reid, the principal of Pikesville School.  We are so very proud of each of the finalists and applaud the recipients of these prestigious awards

The 2016-2017 Finalists for the Principal of the Year award were:


  • Kevin Connelly of Bel Air, principal of Villa Cresta Elementary School
  • Missy Fanshaw of Glyndon, principal of Rodgers Forge Elementary School
  • Lois Stokes of Owings Mills, principal of Randallstown Elementary School


  • Harvey Chambers of Owings Mills, principal of Windsor Mill Middle School
  • Marquis Dwarte of Towson, principal of Overlea High School
  • Sandra Reid of Towson, principal of Pikesville High School

The Education Foundation of BCPS was honored to host the ceremony along with the National Teachers Associates Life Insurance Company (NTA LIFE), as we recognized and celebrated the teachers and leaders throughout our district who make a positive difference in the lives of our students each and every day.  Our partners joined the Foundation and NTA Life by graciously provided their support to the prize package that each recipient received.  A monumental thank you to the individuals, community/business partners and organizations, our Ambassadors, and our TEAM BPCS partners who applauded our outstanding educators and leaders.  The Education Foundation appreciates the generosity of following for their giving:

  • Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
  • Boscov’s – White Marsh Mall
  • Brick Bodies
  • Farrell Maddox, Author, Building the Future
  • Genesee Valley Outdoor Learning
  • Imagine Easy Solutions, LLC
  • Jean Blosser, Author, School Programs in Speech-Language Pathology
  • Lakeshore Learning
  • LEGO Educational
  • Lifetouch
  • National Teachers Associates Life Insurance Company (NTA LIFE)
  • Miss Shirley’s Café
  • Misti Burmeister, Author, Hidden Heroes and Provoking Greatness
  • Ocean Pride
  • Office Depot/Office Max
  • Padonia Park Club
  • Richard Patenaude, Author, The Student Millionaire
  • Santoni’s Marketplace and Catering
  • Smyth Jewelers
  • The Carr Advisory Group
  • Under Armour

The evening ceremony, featured student performances and remarks from 2015-2016 Baltimore County Teacher of the Year, Orly Mondell.  More than 150 nominees and their schools were honored at the ceremony.