Finalists announced for 2015-16 Baltimore County Principal of the Year

Finalists announced for 2015-16 Baltimore County Principal of the YearWinner to be announced during May 6 ceremony

TOWSON, MD. – Five Baltimore County Public Schools principals have been named finalists for the school system’s annual Principal of the Year award for 2015-2016.

“Through the Principal of the Year program, we are able to honor the considerable talents of these innovative and dedicated educational leaders,” said BCPS Superintendent Dr. S. Dallas Dance. “And while we spotlight these five deserving principals, together they represent a team of principals in Baltimore County who are distinguished by their vision and their commitment to children. We are fortunate in Baltimore County to have such a wealth of educational leadership and talent.”
Dr. Dance announced this year’s Principal of the Year finalists Thursday during a monthly leadership meeting of principals and school system administrators. The finalists are:

  • Melissa DiDonato, principal of Padonia International Elementary School.
  • Doug Elmendorf, principal of Chase Elementary School.
  • Jonná Hundley, principal of Chapel Hill Elementary School.
  • Jennifer Mullenax, principal of Halstead Academy.
  • Jean Wilson, principal of Pine Grove Elementary School.

From among the five finalists, one outstanding school leader will be named Baltimore County’s Principal of the Year during a 4 p.m. ceremony on Wednesday, May 6, at George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology, 938 York Road, Towson 21204. The ceremony also will include the announcement of the 2015-16 BCPS Teacher of the Year.
The Principal of the Year finalists were selected by a panel of judges representing stakeholders from across the BCPS school community.